Rajasthan assembly elections 2018 LIVE Updates: Voter turnout recorded 41.53% till 1 pm – Hindustan Times

Over 2,000 candidates are in the fray for 199 assembly seats in Rajasthan, where polling on Friday will determine whether the BJP bucks anti-incumbency and an increasingly aggressive opposition to return to power.

Votes will be cast at 51,687 polling booths, 259 of them managed exclusively by women officials and security personnel.

It is a seen as a straight fight between the Bharatiya Janata Party and the Congress for about 130 seats.

In other constituencies, groups like the Bahujan Samaj Party and rebels who are contesting against official party candidates may queer the pitch.

In the current House, the BJP has 160 seats and the Congress 25.

Vasundhara Raje, who hopes to return as the state’s chief minister, is contesting from Jhalrapatan constituency, considered her bastion.

Click here for Telangana assembly election 2018 Live Updates

This time she face BJP veteran Jaswant Singh’s son Manvendra Singh who has defected to the Congress, complaining that his old party had hurt the pride of the Rajputs by ignoring his father in the last Lok Sabha election.

In Tonk, Sachin Pilot and Rajasthan Transport Minister and BJP candidate Yoonus Khan are face to face. Khan is the only Muslim candidate fielded by his party.

Ashok Gehlot is fighting for the Sardarpura seat.

Also read | Urban vs Rural: Voting patterns in Rajasthan

Telangana and Rajasthan are the last states to go to the polls in the current round of assembly elections, which also covered Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Mizoram.

The counting for all states is on December 11.

Follow the Rajasthan assembly elections 2018 LIVE UPDATES:


— ANI (@ANI) December 7, 2018


— ANI (@ANI) December 7, 2018

Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) candidate Laxman Singh died of cardiac arrest on Thursday.

Voting will now take place in 199 assembly constituencies in Rajasthan instead of 200 on December 7.

6:31 am IST

Voting to begin in 199 constituencies of Rajasthan

The tug of war with a total of 2, 274 candidates in the fray will begin at 8 am and continue till 5 pm. Elections will take place at 51,667 polling stations where 4,74,79,402 people are eligible to cast vote.

6:26 am IST

Rajasthan elections will be held impartially and peacefully: State DGP

“We had started preparations for the polls from June this year. I can confirm that Rajasthan elections will be held impartially and peacefully. Since June, we have taken into custody 2,11,869 warranties. We registered 3,695 cases under Arms Act and arrested 3,653 criminals and recovered 4,156 arms. In a record, we have taken into custody 10,07,467 litres illicit liquor from across the state. During this exercise, as many as10, 209 criminals were arrested,” said Director General of Police OP Gehlotra elaborating the arrangements made for the elections.

6:21 am IST

Top contenders

Besides Vasundhara Raje who is contesting from Jhalrapatan, other top contenders include state Home Minister Gulab Chand Kataria from Udaipur, another Minister Rajendra Rathore from Churu, state party president Ashok Parnami from Adarsh Nagar and Anita Bhadel from Ajmer South.

On the other hand, Congress has former MP Rameshwar Lal Dudi from Nokha, Sachin Pilot from Tonk, Ashok Gehlot from Sardarpur and former Rajasthan minister Hemaram Choudhary from Gudha Malani.

6:16 am IST

Political temple run in Aravallis

At a time when entire Rajasthan was abuzz with high-decibel election campaign, a centuries old temple in the Aravallis was witness to footfalls from the who’s who of the state’s political arena.

It is believed that goddess Tripura Sundari posses mystic power to fulfil wishes of success in politics, which draws scores of political bigwigs cutting across party lines.

Among other high profile devotees, the temple saw visits of Home Minister Rajnath Singh, Congress’ Digvijay Singh, former Rajasthan Governor SK Singh and former Rajasthan Chief Minister Haridev Joshi.

6:06 am IST

Alwar group makes candidates sign affidavit of promises for votes

A group in Alwar has reached out to candidates contesting polls in Rajasthan, asking them to sign an agreement which states that if elected, they would focus on resolving various civic issues including those of cleanliness and stray animals within a year or resign.

5: 52 am IST

Rs 15 crore unaccounted cash seized during campaign period

Rs 15 crore has been seized as unaccounted cash during the campaign period. Liquor worth Rs 25 crore, drugs worth Rs 7.48 crore, gold and silver worth Rs 6.88 crore and vehicles worth Rs 11.89 crore were also seized. Over 4,000 illegal arms were seized after the model code of conduct came into force last month.

5:47 am IST

13,182 booths identified as critical, 4,146 villages identified as vulnerable

Chief electoral officer Anand Kumar said 13,182 booths are being called “critical” and as many as 4,146 “vulnerable” villages have been identified. Central Reserve Police Force personnel will be stationed at 7,791 booths.

“Micro observers will be deployed at 4,982 booths, videographers at 3,948 and there will be webcasting from 3,138,” he said.

4:45 am IST

VVPAT machines being used in Rajasthan for the 1st time: CEC

”It is for the first time that VVPAT machines are being used in Rajasthan. More than two lakh electronic voting machines (EVMs) and verifiable paper audit trail (VVPAT) machines will be used in the elections,” chief electoral officer Anand Kumar said.

4:43 am IST

Election in Ramgarh constituency put off due to death of BSP candidate

The state assembly has 200 seats, but election in Alwar district’s Ramgarh constituency has been put off due to the death of Bahujan Samaj Party candidate Laxman Singh.

4:42 am IST

Heavy security deployment for polling day

2,274 candidates are contesting in Rajasthan which has 4.74 crore registered voters, election officials told news agency PTI. About 1.44 lakh security personnel have been deployed for polling day.

Rajasthan Director General of Police O P Galhotra said foolproof security arrangements are in place.

Rajasthan assembly elections 2018 LIVE Updates: Voter turnout recorded 41.53% till 1 pm – Hindustan Times

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *